Toggle Nav
Tel: (02501) 9288 320

Wir beraten Sie gern!

Wir sind für Sie da


Innerhalb Deutschlands ab 50 €

Warenkorb Warenkorb

Chess and Chess Masters

The greatest players of the 20th century

131 Seiten, kartoniert, Reprint, Hardinge, 2002, original erschienen 1955

Aus der Reihe »Hardinge Simpole Chess Classics«

17,95 €
Inkl. 5% MwSt., zzgl. Versandkosten

Descriptive Notation.

Gideon Stahlberg was a Swedish Grandmaster who rocketed to fame when he won matches against Spielmann and Nimzowitsch in the early 1930s. Stahlberg went on to compete in the two World Championship Candidates Tournaments of 1950 and 1953. He was chief umpire for many World Championship matches in Moscow during the period of soviet hegemony. Those who knew him found him a witty companion who enjoyed good living and was also an expert bridge-player. His best chess games are marked by extreme elegance, as is his prose style.

Chess and Chess Masters is a first hand account of the strengths and weaknesses, of the genius and foibles, of the world's elite, written by a man who met and played them all. This remarkable book is graced by the most elegant prose, courtesy of Stahlberg, improved, if anything, by Harry Golombek's superb translation. The book is full of telling and memorable phrases. Its consists of a series of brilliantly executed thumbnail sketches of such towering figures as Lasker, Capablanca, Alekhine, Euwe, Borvinnik, Smyslov, Petrosian, Nimzowitsch and Keres, along with beautifully annotated examples of their play.

Deskriptive Notation.

Weitere Informationen
Gewicht 200 g
Hersteller Hardinge
Breite 13,7 cm
Höhe 21,5 cm
Medium Buch
Erscheinungsjahr 2002
Autor Gideon Stahlberg
Reihe Hardinge Simpole Chess Classics
Sprache Englisch
ISBN-10 1843820080
ISBN-13 9781843820086
Jahr der Originalausgabe 1955
Seiten 131
Einband kartoniert

001 Lasker

007 Rubinstein

013 Capablanca

021 Alekhine

030 Nimzowitsch

035 Spielmann

040 Réti

045 Bogoljuboff

050 Euwe

057 Flohr

061 Botwinnik

071 Reshevsky

076 Fine

080 Keres

084 Smyslov

091 Najdorf

094 Boleslavsky

097 Bronstein

104 Szabó

109 Gligoric

113 The Russian Masters

122 Stahlberg

129 Index of Openings

131 Index of Players